JoAnn Funk

A warm, sincere holiday album. Merry jazz in the groove, a bit of classical, a touch of Enya, a little gospel, JoAnn on piano and smoky vocals, along with an outstanding quartet of musicians, it is refreshing and easy to listen to.

JoAnn's arrangements of these holiday tunes make them fresh and bring a smile. From What Child is This, gently and beautifully sung in an Enya style, to Frosty The Snowman, reminiscent of Oscar Peterson, to the winsomely sung Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas to a Vince Guaraldi take on O Tannenbaum and a classical piano/bass theme and variations on O Come Little Children, this music is joyful, at times ethereal and calm enough to always be your go to "from parties to tree trimming to get in the mood" holiday CD.

  1. Jingle Bells (3:05)
  2. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (4:48)
  3. O Tannenbaum (3:26)
  4. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear (3:54)
  5. Over The River and Through The Woods (5:26)
  6. Christmas Island (2:29)
  7. Blue Christmas ( 4:35)
  8. O Come Little Children ( 5:08)
  9. Let It Snow! (4:39)
  10. Frosty the Snowman (3:35)
  11. What Child Is This (4:03)

JoAnn Funk, piano and vocals Cindy Hermann, drums Merle Knudson, tenor sax Bruce Calin, bass Al Hager, bass Jocko MacNelly, bass and guitar

Recorded at Studio A, Creation Audio, Minneapolis Minnesota. Mixed and Mastered by Steve Wiese. Produced by Steve Wiese and JoAnn Funk. All arrangements by JoAnn Funk

"GREAT CD- A MUST HAVE FOR THE HOLIDAYS! This is what the holidays are all about. You can picture yourself sitting with a loved one by the fireplace as you listen to this unique album. There must be hundreds of holiday CDs out there that sound pretty much the same- this one is diferent- unique, pleasing, comfy and entertaining. A great stocking stuffer!" Bob Gabbay, CD Baby Buyer Read less....

JOANN'S CD IS TERRIFIC! She has a nice (sexy) voice, plays the piano extremely well, and has assembled a talented group of well balanced accompanying musicians. The arrangements are unique and provide a refreshing contrast to the usual renditions. It's nice to have some jazzy new Christmas music. Please pass along my compliments to her… Gordon Kruse, CD Baby Buyer

JoAnn Funk, piano vocals Jocko MacNelly, bass and guitar Bruce Calin, bass Al Hager, bass Merle Knudson, tenor sax Cindy Herman, drums

Read more… close
0:00 / ???
  1. 1
    0:00 / 4:48
  2. 2
    0:00 / 3:07
  3. 3
    0:00 / 3:54
  4. 4
    0:00 / 2:31
  5. 5
    0:00 / 5:27
  6. 6
    0:00 / 4:11